Tuesday, September 22, 2009

The Whitney Awards

by Rebecca Talley

As we enter the last quarter of 2009, I wanted to remind readers to nominate books by LDS authors for a Whitney Award.

The Whitney Awards were created to recognize excellence in literature written by LDS authors. The books do not have to be targeted to the LDS market, but the author must be LDS to qualify for a Whitney Award.

We have outstanding books in the LDS market, including books by the authors here at our blog. If you've read a book that you think deserves to be nominated for a Whitney Award, you can nominate books here. It's an easy and painless way to recognize LDS authors.

The judges will whittle down all the nominations to five finalists which will be announced in February. This is a great way to recognize LDS authors.

The winners in each category will be announced at the Whitney Awards Gala hosted after the LDStorymakers Writers Conference on April 24, 2010 at the Provo Marriott. If you love to be surrounded by great LDS authors, you'll want to plan to attend the Gala.

Have you nominated any books? I have!

For more information, visit The Whitney Awards.


Becky said...

The Whitney's are definitely worth a few minutes of nominating time. The only difficulty is making the decision which ones to nominate. It seems there have been a lot of great works published in 2009.

Tristi Pinkston said...

I've done a bit of nominating - and I'll probably do some more! :)

Jolynn said...

LDS authors are the best! How many can you nominate? They are all very, very good!

Rachel Rager said...

What a great idea to remind us all of this. Thanks, Rebecca!